How I decided to go to a Community College

My senior year of high school consisted of new friends, new experiences, and just like everyone else, college applications and a lot of decision-making. I didn’t expect my senior year to go the way it did. I didn’t get into a four-year university; my grades weren’t what I wanted them to be and not everyone understood my college decision.

I went to a Catholic high school and since freshman year it felt like I was constantly being told to go to a four-year university. Senior year I got a letter from small private college, in state and I applied because the application fee was waived. I didn’t know anything about the school nor was I interested in attending. I decided then to apply to two more universities that I still didn’t have a great interest in, but I was considering them.

Halfway through the application process, I stopped. I wasn’t happy with the schools that I was applying to but, I didn’t want to feel left out. I sent the application to the private school, got accepted, but told them I wasn’t attending their school. In November of my senior year, I decided that I was going to go to my nearby community college. January 2015 came around and I finally filled out my admissions application and I was so excited that I finally knew where I was going. I still felt a little left out, but I knew that this was what I wanted and I was happy with my decision.

I remember during lunch one day, my classmates and I were all talking about college applications and how some of them were still waiting on their top choices, and how nervous they were. I didn’t know what that felt like and whenever they asked me about my college decision I just said that I was going to a community college. As my last semester of high school passed I became more confident with my decision and didn’t let anyone tell me otherwise or let my decision influence how they thought of me.

my-story

About theandrealuna

I'm Andrea a 20-year-old college student from Northern Virginia (NOVA). 
This entry was posted in About, College, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How I decided to go to a Community College

  1. Her vs. World says:

    I went to a community college before I transferred to a four-year university and honestly the classes at community college were so much more interesting to me! I enjoyed it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

