Writing an Apology Email

Have you ever had to write an apology email? It’s one of the worst feelings ever!

I cannot tell you how many times I have had to write an apology email, whether it’s school related, work related, or club related. It’s having to send an email declining a job or telling someone that they didn’t get the job/position that’s kinda hard to do, especially though email. It’s always tough to know what a person is trying to say through email. It’s hard to sound sincere and make an email not sound harsh.

So, I thought I would share with you some tips as to how to write an apology email when it comes to declining a job position.

Apology Email.jpg

WRITE A DRAFT

First of all write a draft of what you want to say. Whenever I send an email I always write a draft and look back at it the next day. If it’s not urgent then I’ll look back at it like a week later, which I try to not do.  Doing this will allow you to make sure you’re comfortable with what you are sending. If you are declining a job, however you want to send that email sooner than later.

WHAT DO I SAY?

Write expressing how you are sorry to inform them of your decision.

“Dear…

Thank you for taking the time to meet with me. It was great to get to know you.

Unfortunately I am not longer able to work for your company”

Let them know what the situation is. Maybe you’re going to have to travel a lot or you know you can’t commit because of your class/personal schedule.

REASSURANCE

Mention how great of a company they are and if you’re interested, let them know that you may be able to work for them in the future. You can also let them know that they are free to hold onto your application for future positions.

“Unfortunately I am not longer able to work for your company.

I will keep your company in mind for the future.”

Below is a examples if you are the interviewer.

“Dear…
Thank you for coming in for the interview, it was great to meet with you. You show great enthusiasm however, we have chosen someone with more experience in the position we are offering.
We would love to hold onto your resume for future opportunities.”

LOOK AT PREVIOUS EMAILS/EXAMPLES

I’ve received some of these emails myself and I’ve also had to write them to those I have interviewed. I’ve had my fair share. So, based on the emails I’ve received I am able to write these types of emails.

Hope you learn something new from this post and that you understand from where someone is coming from if you receive an email like this. If you would still like help I would love to help you out, just send me a message through twitter or the contact page.

Leave a Reply

