What I learned my first year at Community College

I finished my first year of college! It’s crazy to imagine how quickly life goes, there are so many memories I have made my first year of college and I wouldn’t change any of it. Of course, there are some things I wish I would have known or done better but from my mistakes, I definitely learned a lot.
I went to conferences, leadership retreats, joined clubs and organizations and I won an award. I also got sick, didn’t do so well on a class, and I was constantly stressed. There were ups and downs throughout the year and within that year I made and lost friends.
 
So today I’m going to tell you everything that I learned while in college.
college-year-1

1. Friends will come and go within a year.
2. Many of the friends you make may be transferring the year you just started. So year you may have to make new friends the next year.
3. To get a better experience you should join a club/organization. This will not only help you make friends but also it will give you another reason to stay on campus and familiarize yourself.
4. Enjoy the free time you have with yourself.
5. If your community college has multiple campuses you are going to have friends from the other campuses and you might take classes at more than one campus.
6. Community colleges have parties and they’re pretty fun.
7. There are so many people from different backgrounds and from them, you can learn so much about their cultures.
8. You’re going to forget to do assignments and all you can do it work harder on the next assignments.
9. It’s not high school anymore.
10. You know where the best hangout spots are located.
11. So much can change at your school so find out what those changes are. Because you can say “I saw that building being built” or “I remember what the cafeteria looked like before they changed the tables and chairs!”
12. Coffee is your best friend, especially during midterms/finals
13. The world won’t end if you don’t pass a class.
14. Start a club!
15. It can be difficult to transfer to a university if you don’t know what you want to major in.
16. It’s important to keep in touch with your counselor to stay on track to transfer to.
About theandrealuna

I'm Andrea a 20-year-old college student from Northern Virginia (NOVA). 
This entry was posted in College. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

