My 1st Semester of College

college

My first semester was a great one. I learned so much and met great people. I chose to attend a community college straight from high school and I went to their largest campus. I didn’t know what to expect that semester so I decided to take it easy. I took 10 credits and joined the Student Government Association. I also didn’t know anyone, I felt like I was the only one. All my friends from high school were in college and although I was too it felt different because I was still at home.

Over time, I didn’t feel alone and I became comfortable with my classes and with meeting new people. When I joined the Student Government Association  I just expected to be a member and start from the bottom. I was surprised when the President of the Association talked to me about becoming their secretary and at that moment I decided I would. It was one of the best decisions I made that semester. Without joining, I wouldn’t have met the friends that I have today.

Besides making new friends my first semester, I also challenged myself, academically. I took an economics class and I had never taken one before. It was something new, but I was interested and I thought I would be able to understand it.

It was difficult!

I struggled with the first few exams, but as the semester was getting towards the end I stopped what I was doing originally and studied and focused more on my economics class. I was slacking at the beginning of the semester which never leads to a good outcome. It wasn’t until the week before Thanksgiving break when I realized I needed to step it up and bring all my grades up. My microeconomics class was what I was mostly worried about and without that realization and me changing my habits I wouldn’t have finished with an A in that class.

My first semester went by quickly and I can’t believe how much fun I had and that it’s over. I’m halfway through my first year of college and I can’t wait for how next semester goes.

About theandrealuna

I'm Andrea a 20-year-old college student from Northern Virginia (NOVA). 
This entry was posted in College. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

