ASGA Day 1

American Student Government Association (ASGA) is a conference where all types of colleges attend from the United States and other countries. I was chosen to attend this four-day conference with three other SGA members from my campus and our advisor. We got to our hotel Thursday afternoon, had dinner at Chipotle, and went to the ASGA registration. It was awkward at first because no one knew each other but with the many icebreakers a lot of people opened up, especially me.

I met people from other backgrounds but similar issues and concerns about their schools. On the first day I learned how similar our colleges are whether a four-year private University or a small community college.

Issues discussed:

  • Student involvement
  • Tuition/Book fees
  • Advertisement
  • Incentives for students

The first day I made a lot of connections and some awkward encounters. One of the ice breakers we did was to take a selfie with a stranger, which I did.

Besides that happening I just hung out with the rest of the senators I came with and continued with my day. By the end of the night we were all tired and as much as I wanted to sleep I had to start writing an English paper. I was so excited for what was to come of the next three days.

Leave a Reply

